Prodenta vs Plaque Off — the short answer
They are two unrelated products from two different companies. ProDenta is a herbal powder from Pup Labs (Florida). ProDen PlaqueOff is a kelp-only powder from SwedenCare. The names are one letter apart and shoppers mix them up constantly. The decisive difference: ProDen PlaqueOff Powder has held a VOHC seal for plaque and tartar since 2019. ProDenta is not on the VOHC list at all.
Want kelp plus hydroxyapatite, SHMP and a GOX/LPO enzyme system in one scoop? Compare Pure Majesty Dog Dental Powder — $48.99, free worldwide shipping, twelve named actives with published percentages.
Reading Prodenta reviews or comparing ProBright Advanced? Before picking either, consider Pure Majesty Dog Dental Powder: our daily dental powder combines kelp and SHMP with hydroxyapatite, GOX/LPO enzymes and zinc citrate. Below, compare the formulas, review evidence and buying details that matter for your dog.
Prodenta vs Plaque Off: the name collision nobody explains
This is the single most common mix-up in the dog dental aisle, and almost no review page addresses it directly. Here is the distinction, laid out plainly.
| ProDenta | ProDen PlaqueOff | |
|---|---|---|
| Company | Pup Labs (Florida, USA) | SwedenCare (Sweden) |
| Core approach | Herbal blend — spirulina, pumpkin, peppermint, oregano, flavonoids | Single active — Ascophyllum nodosum brown seaweed |
| VOHC seal | No — not on the list | Yes — Powder, plaque + tartar, awarded 2019 |
| Published canine trial | None located | Yes — Gawor 2018, 60 dogs, 90 days (on the Dental Bites format) |
| Per-serving amounts | Not disclosed | Scoop size by weight band |
Two details are worth pinning down, because the marketing tends to blur them. The VOHC seal is product-specific, not brand-wide. SwedenCare holds separate acceptances for ProDen PlaqueOff Powder (2019), the Dental Bites (2017), the Dental Care Bones (2022) and the Soft Chews (2024) — each earned on its own submitted data. And the famous 90-day trial tested the Dental Bites, not the powder. That trial (Gawor et al., Frontiers in Veterinary Science, 2018) is routinely cited on powder listings; it was run on a chew.
There is also a third name in this cluster: ProBright Advanced from PetLab Co., which is a different product again. We compare all three below. If you want a formula that pairs the kelp in PlaqueOff with enamel-mineral and enzyme actives PlaqueOff doesn't contain, see the Pure Majesty formula and current bundles.
What is actually in ProBright Advanced, and how much?
ProBright Advanced is a once-daily powder from PetLab Co. that you sprinkle over food. We can confirm the PetLab Co. attribution: it is sold under the PetLabCo. brand on the company's own site and through Chewy and PetSmart.
Unusually for this category, PetLab Co. publishes a per-scoop breakdown. On its own ingredients page (updated December 2025) it lists, for a medium-dog 2 g scoop: 750 million CFU of a probiotic blend (Pediococcus pentosaceus and Lactiplantibacillus plantarum), 850 mg brown algae (Ascophyllum nodosum), 100 mg sodium hexametaphosphate, 68 mg rosemary leaf extract and 8.2 mg decaffeinated green tea. The large-dog 3 g scoop rises to 1.2 billion CFU, 1,510 mg algae and 125 mg sodium hexametaphosphate. Retailer ingredient panels also list perilla seed extract among the actives, plus calcium bentonite, dried brewer's yeast, hydrolyzed chicken liver flavor and spinach powder as inactives.
The jars are sold by dog size. On Chewy in July 2026 they ran 1.59 oz for small dogs up to 3.17 oz for large, priced from roughly $33 to $54 — weights consistent with a 30-day supply at the stated scoop sizes.
PetLab Co. also cites its own 28-day study reporting a 40% reduction in hydrogen sulfide, a key bad-breath compound. Worth knowing: we could not locate that study in a peer-reviewed journal or an independent database. It is brand-run data, presented as such.

What is actually in Prodenta, and what is not disclosed?
Prodenta (branded ProDenta by Pup Labs, and a separate product from the kelp-only ProDen PlaqueOff) is also a sprinkle-on daily powder, sold by dog size, with 30 servings per bag.
Pup Labs names five headline ingredients on its product page: spirulina, pumpkin, a "flavonoid superfoods" blend, peppermint and oregano. Amazon listings for the same product add fennel seed and whole oats. The brand states the formula is produced in a GMP and NASC-certified facility in Florida, and lists Dr. Randy D. Aronson as its lead veterinary consultant.
ProDenta's ingredient presentation differs from Pure Majesty's percentage-based list; check the current package for the exact serving and full formula. Notably, ProDenta contains no Ascophyllum nodosum at all — so despite the similar name, it shares no active ingredient with PlaqueOff.
Prodenta reviews: what the current page actually shows
Checked September 6, 2026: Pup Labs' page displays two different review summaries—a promotional 4.5/5 from 99 reviews and a customer-review section showing 4.2/5 from 3,285. Their scopes are not reconciled on the page, so neither should be presented as a single verified product score. In the visible recent sample, Jannie K. (September 4) reports better-looking teeth and Jackie K. (September 3) comments on ease of use. These two favorable examples are not a representative survey or clinical evidence.
Before buying on star ratings alone, check Pure Majesty's formula and current offer against the ingredients you want in daily dental care. Source: Pup Labs ProDenta page.
ProBright Advanced vs Prodenta: how do they compare side by side?
Our own dental powder for dogs is included as a third column, and held to exactly the same disclosure test we applied to the other two — including where we come up short.
| Criterion | Pure Majesty Pets | ProBright Advanced (PetLab Co.) | Prodenta (Pup Labs) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Format | Powder on food, single jar | Powder on food, jar sized by dog | Powder on food, bag sized by dog |
| Named actives | 12 named, including hydroxyapatite, GOX/LPO enzymes, oral postbiotic, inulin, kelp, SHMP, zinc citrate | 5 with published amounts (probiotic blend, kelp, SHMP, rosemary, green tea) | 5–7 named (spirulina, flavonoids, peppermint, oregano, pumpkin, fennel, oats) |
| Per-scoop amounts disclosed | Ingredient percentages published; use the current package serving guide | Yes — mg and CFU published by size | No |
| Main mechanisms | Enamel mineral support, enzyme system, pre/postbiotic, kelp, calcium-binding | Kelp via saliva, calcium-binding (SHMP), oral probiotics, antioxidants | Herbal antibacterial and antioxidant support, breath freshening |
| Brushing required | No | No | No |
| Flavor / palatability | Pork liver and pumpkin included in formula | Hydrolyzed chicken liver flavor listed | Brand describes it as odorless and tasteless in food |
| Cost comparison | $48.99, one price for every dog size, free worldwide shipping | Use current checkout price and weight-based servings; jar prices are not monthly costs. | Use current checkout price and weight-based servings; jar prices are not monthly costs. |
| Evidence available | No product trial published; independent research exists on several ingredients | Brand-run 28-day breath study; independent research exists on two of its ingredients | On-site reviews and vet endorsement; no product trial published |
| VOHC seal | No | No | No |
If your priority is a dental food topper with hydroxyapatite, kelp and a GOX/LPO enzyme system together, compare the Pure Majesty formula and available bundles. Choose by the ingredients and application you want; a longer ingredient list by itself does not prove better clinical results.
How should you actually judge a dog dental powder?
Marketing language converges fast in this category, so it helps to score products on things that can be checked. Four criteria do most of the work.
- Does the label tell you how much? An ingredient named without an amount cannot be evaluated. ProBright Advanced clears this bar; Prodenta and our own powder do not, and that is a fair criticism of both.
- Do the actives have canine data, not just human or in-vitro data? Kelp and sodium hexametaphosphate do. Spirulina, oregano and peppermint have general antimicrobial and antioxidant literature, but we found no controlled canine dental trials for them.
- Is there a VOHC seal? The Veterinary Oral Health Council reviews submitted trial data and requires at least a 15% reduction in plaque or calculus in each of two trials, averaging 20% or more, with statistical significance. Very few products in any category hold it. On the council's November 2025 dog list, the only accepted food-added powders are ProDen PlaqueOff Powder (SwedenCare, 2019), the CEVA Clenz-A-Dent version (2020) and Vetradent Powder (Dechra, 2023). ProBright Advanced, Prodenta and Pure Majesty Pets are all absent. Absence means no submitted trial, not a failed one — submission is voluntary and the manufacturer funds the studies.
- Will you actually use it daily? A powder used four times a week beats a toothbrush used twice a month. Compliance is the hidden variable in every home dental routine.
If you want the deeper version of this framework, our dog dental powder guide walks through each mechanism, and our best dental powder for dogs comparison scores the wider market on the same criteria.
What does the research say about the ingredients these powders share?
Kelp (Ascophyllum nodosum) has the strongest canine evidence of anything in either formula. In a double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled study of 60 client-owned dogs over 90 days, edible treats containing A. nodosum significantly improved plaque index, calculus index and volatile sulfur compound concentration compared with placebo (Gawor et al., Frontiers in Veterinary Science, 2018; PMID 30109236; DOI 10.3389/fvets.2018.00168). Read the timeline carefully before trusting a "results in 4 weeks" claim: calculus separated from placebo by day 30, but plaque index did not reach significance until day 90, breath compounds were not significant at day 30, and the composite oral health index never reached significance across the whole trial. The study was funded by Sweden Care AB and enrolled only small-breed dogs averaging around 4 kg. A 2023 review in Polish Journal of Veterinary Sciences (PMID 37727971) concluded the preventive effect appears strongest in powder form, that data on reversing existing disease are essentially absent, and that the mechanism is still unclear — a 2021 Frontiers in Veterinary Science paper found the supplement measurably alters the canine saliva metabolome (PMC8258245), which is a plausible route but not a proven one.
Sodium hexametaphosphate has older but direct calculus data. Work published in the American Journal of Veterinary Research (1995;56(7):913–918; PMID 7574160) and a follow-up in the Journal of Veterinary Dentistry (Stookey, Warrick, Miller and Katz, 1996;13(1); DOI 10.1177/089875649601300105) reported large reductions in calculus formation in beagles fed hexametaphosphate-coated food or biscuits. Important caveat: those studies coated the food surface at a defined concentration, which is not the same delivery route as a loose powder stirred into a bowl, so the numbers should not be transplanted onto any powder product.
Hydroxyapatite evidence is mostly human. A recent narrative review of clinical evidence in human dentistry describes hydroxyapatite adhering to enamel and filling microscopic surface defects, with remineralization comparable to fluoride at equivalent contact times (PMC12470856). Canine trials on hydroxyapatite in dental powders are not available, so the honest framing is that the mechanism is well characterized in human enamel — not that it is proven in dogs.
Spirulina, oregano and peppermint have real antioxidant and antimicrobial literature, but current research does not strongly prove that they reduce plaque or calculus in dogs. That is a limitation of the evidence, not an accusation against the product.
Underneath all of it sits the reason this matters: Cornell University's Riney Canine Health Center notes that 80–90% of dogs over three years old have some degree of periodontal disease, and the Merck Veterinary Manual is blunt that while brushing removes plaque, calculus can only be removed by professional scaling and polishing. No powder changes that. For more on the safety side of daily powders, see is dog dental powder safe.
Where does the Pure Majesty dental powder fit in this comparison?

Three verifiable differences, and one honest limitation.
Published percentages. Pure Majesty lists its ingredient percentages, including hydroxyapatite 15%, kelp 8%, SHMP 1% and GOX/LPO enzymes 0.6%. Prodenta publishes no amounts at all, so its formula cannot be checked by a buyer. Ours can.
More than one mechanism. PlaqueOff is a single-active product — kelp, and nothing else. Prodenta is a herbal blend with no kelp. Pure Majesty runs kelp and SHMP and hydroxyapatite and the GOX/LPO enzyme system in one scoop, so it covers the saliva route, the calcium-binding route and the enamel-mineral route rather than betting on one.
One price, every size. Competitors sell by weight band, so a Labrador owner pays substantially more per month than a terrier owner. Pure Majesty Dog Dental Powder is $48.99 regardless of dog size, with free worldwide shipping, made in North America under GMP with a certificate of analysis on every batch.
The limitation: we have not run a VOHC-submitted clinical trial on the finished product, and we will not imply otherwise. ProDen PlaqueOff has done that work on its powder and deserves credit for it. What we offer instead is full ingredient transparency and a broader active profile — judge on that basis.
If you are cross-shopping the wider category, our PetLab Co dental powder review goes deeper on that brand specifically, our ProDen PlaqueOff for dogs review covers the one powder that does hold VOHC acceptance, and the dog toothpaste alternative collection groups the no-brush options together.
What can you realistically expect at 2, 4 and 8 weeks?
Expectation-setting is where most owners get disappointed, so here is a realistic timeline for any daily powder, ours included.
- Weeks 1–2: Acceptance, not results. You are checking that your dog eats the food with the powder on it and that stools stay normal. Some owners notice a modest breath change; many notice nothing yet. Nothing has changed on the teeth.
- Weeks 3–4: In the kelp trial, this is the window where tartar — not plaque, not breath — first separated from placebo. Existing brown calculus will look exactly the same, because it is mineralized.
- Weeks 6–8 and beyond: If a powder is going to help, this is where new soft plaque accumulates more slowly and the gumline may look less inflamed. The A. nodosum trial ran 90 days for a reason — plaque index only reached significance at day 90. Judge the product on how quickly deposits return after a professional cleaning, not on whether old tartar disappeared.
What are the common mistakes owners make with dental powders?
- Buying the wrong one of the two similar names. If a review cites the 90-day kelp trial and you buy ProDenta expecting those results, you have bought a product containing no kelp. Check the active, not the name.
- Expecting tartar to fall off. Hardened calculus needs scaling. Powders are about slowing what comes next.
- Starting a powder instead of booking an overdue dental. If there is visible calculus, red gums or a mouth odor that has changed suddenly, the powder is the follow-up, not the treatment.
- Dosing by eye. Scoop sizes are calibrated to weight bands. Doubling up does not accelerate anything and wastes product.
- Stopping at three weeks. The published canine work runs 90 days. A two-week trial tells you almost nothing.
- Ignoring iodine with kelp formulas. Ascophyllum nodosum is a natural iodine source. If your dog has thyroid disease or takes thyroid medication, ask your vet before using any kelp-containing powder — that applies to PlaqueOff, ProBright Advanced and to ours. Our kelp dental powder for dogs article covers this in detail.
- Assuming a vet endorsement equals a trial. A named veterinary consultant is a genuine quality signal about formulation review. It is not the same as published efficacy data on the finished product.
When should you call your vet instead of reaching for a powder?
Periodontal disease is a veterinary diagnosis, and some signs mean a supplement is the wrong first move. Book an appointment rather than a subscription if you see bleeding gums, a receding gumline or exposed roots, a loose or discolored tooth, swelling under an eye or along the jaw, dropping food or chewing on one side, pawing at the mouth, drooling more than usual, or a sudden rather than gradual change in breath odor. A powder started after a professional cleaning works with the mouth; a powder started on top of established disease works against it.
To compare your daily-care options, read our Iron Paws dental powder review, our VetriScience Perio Support review and our best dog dental powder comparison.
Frequently asked questions
Is Prodenta the same as Plaque Off?
No. They are made by different companies and share no active ingredient. ProDenta is a herbal powder from Pup Labs in Florida, built on spirulina, pumpkin, peppermint and oregano. ProDen PlaqueOff is from SwedenCare and contains a single active, Ascophyllum nodosum seaweed. ProDen PlaqueOff Powder has held a VOHC seal for plaque and tartar since 2019; ProDenta is not on the VOHC list.
Which is better, Prodenta or Plaque Off?
On published evidence, ProDen PlaqueOff is the stronger choice: it has a VOHC-accepted powder and its active has placebo-controlled canine data, while ProDenta has neither. Note that the well-known 90-day trial was run on PlaqueOff Dental Bites, not the powder, and that its plaque benefit only reached statistical significance at day 90.
Is ProBright Advanced or Prodenta better for my dog?
ProBright Advanced publishes per-scoop amounts in mg and CFU; ProDenta publishes none, which makes it impossible to evaluate. For a dental-focused formula with kelp, SHMP, hydroxyapatite and GOX/LPO enzymes together, our choice is Pure Majesty Dog Dental Powder. Compare the current labels rather than assuming any one powder suits every dog.
Does either ProBright Advanced or Prodenta have a VOHC seal?
No. Neither product appears on the Veterinary Oral Health Council's accepted products list for dogs, checked against the November 2025 table. The only food-added powders on that list are ProDen PlaqueOff Powder from SwedenCare, the CEVA Clenz-A-Dent version and Vetradent Powder from Dechra. The Pure Majesty Pets dental powder is not on the list either.
Do dental powders remove tartar that is already on my dog's teeth?
No. The Merck Veterinary Manual states that while plaque can be removed by brushing, calculus can only be removed by professional scaling and polishing under anesthesia. Daily powders may help slow how quickly new plaque and calculus accumulate, which is a different and more modest claim.
How long before I see anything from a dog dental powder?
Breath tends to change first, often somewhere between weeks two and four. Changes in how quickly new deposits build up take longer to judge — in the main placebo-controlled kelp study, tartar separated from placebo at day 30 but plaque only at day 90. Existing hardened tartar will not change at any point.
Are these powders safe to give every day?
All are designed for daily use on food, and it helps to introduce any new powder gradually over about a week. Because Ascophyllum nodosum kelp is naturally high in iodine, speak to your veterinarian first if your dog has thyroid disease, takes thyroid medication, is pregnant, or has any diagnosed health condition.
This article is general educational information and is not veterinary advice. Pure Majesty Pets supplements support general oral wellness and are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Periodontal disease is a veterinary diagnosis. Always follow the product label and consult your veterinarian about your individual dog, particularly before starting any supplement in a dog with a diagnosed health condition or on medication. Third-party product details were verified against manufacturer and retailer listings in 2026 and may change; VOHC status was checked against the council's table dated November 2025.
Ready to choose your daily dental powder? See the Pure Majesty formula, serving guide and current bundles and decide whether our ingredient combination fits your dog's routine.
Keep reading
- the wider dental powder comparison — the same disclosure and evidence criteria applied across the broader powder market, not just these two brands.
- our multi-mechanism dental powder — twelve named actives in one daily scoop, including kelp and sodium hexametaphosphate.