PetLab Co Dental Powder Review: Does It Work?

Healthy Dalmatian with clean white teeth and pink gums, illustrating a PetLab Co dental powder for dogs review

Short answer on side effects: PetLab Co's ProBright Advanced is well tolerated by most healthy adult dogs. The three things actually worth watching are loose stool in the first few days when the full dose is started at once, the iodine load from kelp in any dog with a thyroid condition — a caution PetLab's own label carries — and dogs that simply eat around the powder. Safety in pregnant or breeding dogs has not been established.

Below: the label line by line, what the kelp trial behind this whole category really measured, and how the formula compares with a 12-active dog dental powder.

PetLab ProBright Advanced combines kelp, SHMP and probiotics in a daily powder. Before you decide, compare Pure Majesty Dog Dental Powder: our formula also includes hydroxyapatite, GOX/LPO enzymes and zinc citrate. This PetLab Co dental powder review checks the label and review claims so you can choose by ingredients and routine, beyond the brand name.

PetLab ProBright Advanced is a daily powder with several named actives. Pure Majesty offers a different combination, including hydroxyapatite, GOX/LPO enzymes and zinc citrate. Compare that formula with your priorities; ingredient research is not a head-to-head trial of these finished products.

Already comparing labels? Pure Majesty Pets Dog Dental Powder keeps the same two actives PetLab Co builds on — kelp (8%) and SHMP (1%) — and adds ten more at disclosed percentages, including hydroxyapatite at 15%, the mineral tooth enamel is made of, which PetLab Co's label does not list. Same once-daily scoop on food; $48.99.

What Is PetLab Co Dental Powder?

PetLab Co is a New York-based pet supplement brand founded in 2018. Its dental powder — officially named ProBright® Advanced, though most owners just search "petlab dental powder" or "petlab co dental powder" — is a food topper. You add a scoop to your dog's meal once a day, sized to your dog's weight (four tub sizes, from under 4 lb to over 75 lb), and the active ingredients go to work through saliva as your dog eats and drinks. Another dental supplement label worth reading is covered in our VetriScience Perio Support review. Before choosing a powder, read dental-powder ingredients and safety.

The category exists because brushing compliance is genuinely low. Most dogs resist a toothbrush, and human toothpaste is never an option — xylitol and fluoride are both unsafe for dogs to swallow. A once-daily powder sidesteps the fight entirely, which explains why PetLab Co's dental line has become one of the most visible products in this space, backed by a veterinary-dentist consultant (Dr. Jan Bellows) and NASC membership.

What Is in PetLab Co Dental Powder?

According to PetLab Co's published product label, ProBright® Advanced lists five active ingredients per scoop:

  • Proprietary probiotic blend (Pediococcus pentosaceus, Lactiplantibacillus plantarum): live bacterial strains intended to support a balanced oral microbiome, dosed by CFU count (up to 1.2 billion CFU in the largest size).
  • Brown algae (Ascophyllum nodosum): the same North Atlantic kelp used across most credible anti-tartar products in this category, with genuine published research behind it.
  • Sodium hexametaphosphate (SHMP): a mineral compound that binds calcium in saliva, making it harder for new tartar to mineralize on the tooth surface.
  • Rosemary leaf extract: included for antioxidant and breath-freshening support.
  • Green tea (decaffeinated): another antioxidant with mild antibacterial properties.

Inactive ingredients are calcium bentonite, dried brewer's yeast, hydrolyzed chicken liver flavor (for palatability), and spinach powder. It's worth correcting a common assumption: this is not a bare-bones, one-ingredient kelp powder — it's a five-active formula with a reasonable rationale behind each component. What it doesn't contain is any ingredient aimed at enamel remineralization or an enzyme system that actively generates antibacterial compounds in the mouth.

For the next step in your comparison, see choosing a dog breath powder.

Does Dental Powder Actually Reduce Plaque?

The strongest evidence in this entire product category applies to Ascophyllum nodosum specifically. A double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled study published in Frontiers in Veterinary Science (Gawor et al., 2018) found that dogs fed Ascophyllum nodosum-containing treats daily showed measurably lower plaque and calculus (tartar) index scores than dogs given a placebo. Follow-up saliva-metabolome research has explored how the seaweed changes salivary chemistry rather than acting as a mechanical abrasive. Reported reduction percentages vary by study, product, and duration — treat that range as directional evidence, not a guarantee for any individual dog.

PetLab Co also cites its own testing: a company-reported 28-day study describing a 40% reduction in hydrogen sulfide (a compound linked to bad breath), and a 90-day study reporting a plaque index 25% lower than a control group. These are manufacturer-disclosed results rather than independent peer-reviewed publications we could verify directly, so we'd describe them as company-reported evidence — plausible given the kelp and SHMP mechanisms, but not the same evidentiary tier as the published Frontiers trial. For an older dog, track bathroom habits alongside comfort and activity. If nutritional bladder support is part of the veterinary plan, compare bladder-support ingredients and product labels before adding it to the daily routine. If you are shopping in this category, include the Pure Majesty Pets Cranberry Drops label in that comparison.

One useful reference point: the Veterinary Oral Health Council (VOHC), run under the American Veterinary Dental College, awards a Seal of Acceptance to products that pass a minimum of two controlled trials against defined plaque and/or tartar criteria. Neither PetLab Co's ProBright® Advanced nor Pure Majesty Pets' dental powder currently carries the VOHC Seal. ProDen PlaqueOff® Powder — a different brand built on the same core kelp ingredient — does hold the VOHC Seal for both plaque and tartar, awarded in 2019. That's a helpful benchmark for what "clinically tested" claims do and don't guarantee across this category, ours included. See the difference between plaque and tartar for the details behind this part of the care plan.

If your priority is a dental food topper with hydroxyapatite, kelp and a GOX/LPO enzyme system together, compare the Pure Majesty formula and available bundles. Choose by the ingredients and application you want; a longer ingredient list by itself does not prove better clinical results.

PetLab Co Dental Powder Side Effects

Searches for petlab co dental powder side effects are common, and the honest answer is that the product is generally well tolerated. Safety questions come up with every pet product, and the safest flea treatment for dogs covers side effects and FDA facts for parasite control. Based on the label and typical kelp-powder tolerance patterns:

  • Digestive upset: loose stool or gas in the first several days, usually from introducing a full dose too quickly rather than ramping up gradually.
  • Iodine content: kelp is naturally iodine-rich. PetLab Co's own label states "use with caution in animals with hyperthyroid disease," which applies to any kelp-based dental product, including ours — talk to your vet first if your dog has a thyroid condition.
  • Picky eaters: some dogs detect the powder's texture or scent and eat around it, especially on dry kibble. Owners who top meals with extras often ask whether raw eggs are good for dogs.

The label also notes that safety in pregnant or breeding dogs hasn't been established, and recommends a veterinary exam before starting the product — sound, conservative guidance that we'd echo for any dental supplement. If you are budgeting for that exam, what a vet visit costs breaks down real clinic price lists.

The one side effect the label quantifies: iodine

"Use with caution in animals with hyperthyroid disease" appears on kelp-based dental products, PetLab Co's included, and it is almost never explained. The reason it matters is that Ascophyllum nodosum is genuinely iodine-dense, and a dental powder is a daily, indefinite exposure rather than an occasional one.

The trial behind this category puts a number on it. Gawor and colleagues (Frontiers in Veterinary Science, 2018;5:168, DOI 10.3389/fvets.2018.00168, PMID 30109236) dosed 60 dogs with A. nodosum daily for 90 days and reported that the treats "provided 16–32 μg iodine per kg dog per day," with the dogs receiving "an average of 18.7 mcg/kg/day during this study." No adverse events were observed at that exposure over three months, and every dog finished the trial in good condition. That is a useful reference point, not a safety clearance for every formula — the iodine in any given product depends on how much algae a scoop actually contains, which is exactly what a label without percentages will not tell you. Breed and size shape dental risk too, a point explored in what purebred dogs' health evidence shows.

If your dog is on thyroid medication, has been diagnosed with hyper- or hypothyroidism, or is pregnant or nursing, this is a conversation to have with your veterinarian before starting any kelp-based powder, ours included. While you are at the clinic, ask what else is due, such as the Bordetella vaccine and its boosters.

What the kelp trial actually proved — and on what timeline

PetLab Co reports its own 28-day and 90-day testing. Those are company-disclosed results. The independent, peer-reviewed data for the shared kelp active tells a more specific story about timing, and it is the part that sets realistic expectations:

Outcome Day 30 Day 60 Day 90
Calculus index (tartar) Significant, p = 0.002 (~35% lower) Significant, p = 0.001 Significant, p < 0.001
Plaque index Not significant Not significant Significant, p < 0.001
Breath (volatile sulfur compounds) Not significant, p = 0.858 Significant, p = 0.007 Significant, p < 0.001
Oral health index (composite) Not significant at any time point (p = 0.090)

Read plainly: kelp buys you tartar control within about a month, while the plaque and breath differences in the published data needed 60 to 90 days to become measurable. The trial was funded by the manufacturer of the product tested, and all 60 dogs were toy or small breeds averaging 4.1–4.2 kg, so it was never designed to speak for large dogs. Current research does not strongly prove that any kelp-based supplement resolves periodontal disease or removes hardened calculus; that remains a veterinary procedure.

The trial dose was 0.05 g of algae per kilogram of body weight per day — about 0.23 g for a 10 lb dog, 0.57 g at 25 lb, 1.13 g at 50 lb and 1.70 g at 75 lb. Weight-based dosing like this is common in other pet products too, and cat flea and tick chewables and oral treatments shows how it works for cats. You can only check a product against those figures if it publishes how much kelp a scoop contains. Pure Majesty lists a percentage for each of its twelve actives, including kelp at 8%, alongside hydroxyapatite at 15% and the GOX/LPO enzyme system at 0.6%. See the full percentage breakdown — $48.99, free worldwide shipping, made in North America under GMP with a certificate of analysis on every batch.

What Do PetLab Co Dental Powder Reviews Say?

On September 6, 2026, we checked the testimonials displayed on PetLab’s ProBright Advanced page. One highlighted owner describes improved breath and less yellowing; another explains why they use the product for daily care. These are brand-selected testimonials, not a representative sample or proof that every dog will respond. The site’s large five-star review count refers to the brand globally, not just this powder. Multi-pet households reading reviews may also be dealing with fleas on a cat, which what kills fleas on cats instantly covers.

Use reviews to check practical questions such as food acceptance and ease of use. Quick fixes tempt owners in every category, and for a cat's fleas it is worth reading home remedies for fleas on cats first. Then compare Pure Majesty’s ingredient profile before deciding. Our reasons to consider it are its formula and food-topper routine, not an unverified claim that its reviews or outcomes beat PetLab.

Source: PetLab ProBright Advanced product page, checked September 6, 2026.

Is Dental Powder Better Than Brushing?

Neither PetLab Co nor any dental powder replaces brushing as the mechanical gold standard recognized in veterinary dentistry — physically disrupting plaque biofilm with a brush remains the single most effective daily intervention. The honest dental powder vs brushing comparison is less about which wins and more about which one your dog will actually tolerate every day. A powder acts through saliva chemistry and contact with the tooth surface; a toothbrush physically removes soft plaque before it hardens into calculus. For the large share of dogs that won't accept a toothbrush, a well-formulated powder is a realistic, evidence-supported maintenance layer rather than a substitute for professional cleanings. We cover this trade-off in more depth in our dental powder vs brushing comparison. For the no-brush format question, see brushless toothpaste and no-brush claims.

PetLab Co vs a 12-Ingredient Alternative

Here's where the formulas genuinely diverge. Pure Majesty Pets dog dental powder keeps the same evidence-backed foundation — kelp and SHMP — and includes additional named ingredients such as hydroxyapatite and GOX/LPO enzymes. It's also cold-processed below 35°C to protect heat-sensitive enzymes.

Feature Pure Majesty Pets Dental Powder PetLab Co ProBright® Advanced
Active ingredients (label-disclosed) 12 5
Percentages published per active Yes — all 12 Not stated
Kelp (Ascophyllum nodosum) ✔ Yes (8%) ✔ Yes
SHMP (tartar chelator) ✔ Yes (1%) ✔ Yes
Green tea extract ✔ Yes (0.5%) ✔ Yes
Live probiotic blend (CFU-dosed) ✘ No (uses a postbiotic lysate at 0.3% instead) ✔ Yes
Rosemary leaf extract ✘ No ✔ Yes
Hydroxyapatite (enamel mineral) ✔ Yes (15%) ✘ No
GOX/LPO enzyme system (saliva-mimicking antibacterial) ✔ Yes (0.6%) ✘ No
Zinc citrate (bad-breath compound neutralizer) ✔ Yes (0.6%) ✘ No
Inulin (prebiotic fiber) ✔ Yes (14%) ✘ No
Added calcium (carbonate + lactate) ✔ Yes (8% + 8%) ✘ No
Cold-processed (<35°C) ✔ Yes — protects enzymes Not stated
VOHC Seal of Acceptance ✘ Not currently listed ✘ Not currently listed
Use Sprinkle on food once daily Sprinkle on food once daily
Price $48.99 USD —

Both brands invest in real, published-adjacent science rather than gimmicks — that's worth acknowledging. PetLab Co pairs kelp with a live probiotic blend and SHMP; that's a legitimate, distinct approach to oral bacterial balance. The gap is coverage: PetLab Co addresses tartar accumulation and oral bacteria, while a 12-ingredient formula also targets enamel remineralization and active, saliva-mimicking bacterial suppression at the same time. When a probiotic is part of the feeding plan, the dog probiotic comparison helps you choose by named strain, formulation and current directions rather than CFU count alone. For a specific label to review against those criteria, see Pure Majesty Pets Liquid Probiotic.

Why Hydroxyapatite and Enzymes Matter

Hydroxyapatite is the mineral that makes up natural tooth enamel. At 15% of the Pure Majesty Pets formula, it's designed to bind to microscopic enamel defects and help remineralize them — smoother enamel gives plaque biofilm less surface area to grip. No kelp-and-SHMP formula, including PetLab Co's, currently includes it.

The GOX/LPO enzyme system (glucose oxidase / lactoperoxidase) mimics the antibacterial mechanism already present in healthy saliva, generating trace, safe amounts of hydrogen peroxide that suppress plaque-forming bacteria around the clock rather than only at mealtime. It's a different strategy than PetLab Co's live probiotic blend — one adds beneficial bacteria, the other actively suppresses harmful ones — and the two approaches aren't mutually exclusive; they simply reflect different formulation philosophies within the same product category.

Best Dental Powder for Dogs: How to Choose

Whichever brand you land on, use this checklist to evaluate any product claiming to be the best dental powder for dogs, rather than trusting the loudest ad:

  • Discloses exact ingredients and, ideally, percentages — not just a marketing-friendly "proprietary blend."
  • Includes clinically studied kelp (Ascophyllum nodosum) at a meaningful dose.
  • Contains at least one anti-tartar mineral (like SHMP) alongside the kelp.
  • Ideally adds enamel-support or active antibacterial mechanisms, not just tartar-slowing ones.
  • Has no xylitol and no fluoride — both unsafe for dogs.
  • Provides a clear dosing chart by dog weight and instructions to introduce it gradually.

For a deeper breakdown of how popular products score against these criteria, see our independent ranking of the best dental powder for dogs, and our complete guide to dog dental powder for how the category works mechanism by mechanism. If bad breath is your dog's main issue rather than visible tartar, our guide to dog bad breath covers the other common causes worth ruling out first.

To compare your daily-care options, read our ProBright Advanced vs. Prodenta ingredient comparison and Iron Paws dental powder review.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is PetLab Co dental powder safe for dogs?

Yes, for most healthy adult dogs. The main cautions on PetLab Co's own label are mild digestive upset if introduced too quickly and the iodine content of kelp, which matters for dogs with thyroid conditions — check with your vet first. Safety in pregnant or breeding dogs hasn't been established. If digestive signs are driving this decision, keep parasite testing in the conversation too: the dewormer coverage guide explains why a supplement label and confirmed parasite coverage are different things.

Does PetLab Co dental powder really work, and how long does it take?

Outcomes and timing depend on the specific product, the dog and the existing mouth condition. A powder should not be expected to soften or remove hardened tartar. Use it as directed for daily care and ask your veterinarian how to assess progress.

Is dental powder better than brushing?

No dental powder fully replaces brushing, which remains the mechanical gold standard in veterinary dentistry. For the many dogs that won't tolerate a toothbrush, a daily dental powder is a realistic, evidence-supported way to slow plaque and tartar between professional cleanings. See what dental powder can and cannot replace for the details behind this part of the care plan.

What's the real difference between PetLab Co and Pure Majesty Pets dental powder?

Both use clinically studied kelp and SHMP. PetLab Co adds a live probiotic blend, rosemary, and green tea (5 actives total). Pure Majesty Pets keeps kelp, SHMP, and green tea, then adds hydroxyapatite, a GOX/LPO enzyme system, zinc citrate, inulin, added calcium, and an oral postbiotic lysate — 12 actives total, each at a published percentage, including two mechanisms (enamel remineralization and active enzyme antibacterial action) that PetLab Co's label doesn't list.

Can I use human toothpaste instead of a dental powder?

Never. Human toothpaste commonly contains xylitol, which is highly toxic to dogs, and fluoride, which is unsafe when swallowed. Use only products formulated specifically for dogs.

Is dog dental powder safe for puppies and senior dogs?

Most dental powders, including PetLab Co's, are labeled for dogs 12 weeks and older. For senior dogs or dogs with existing dental disease or other health conditions, introduce any new dental powder gradually and check with your veterinarian first. For an older dog whose nutrition plan also includes eye support, review eye supplements and what canine research supports before adding another antioxidant formula with overlapping ingredients.

The Bottom Line

PetLab Co's dental powder earned its popularity honestly: it's built on Ascophyllum nodosum kelp and sodium hexametaphosphate, two ingredients with genuine research behind their tartar-control mechanism, and it's simple to use. It is not, however, a complete formula — its own label shows five actives focused on tartar and oral bacteria, with nothing aimed at enamel remineralization or active antibacterial enzyme production. If you're already committing to a daily scoop, it's worth comparing what's actually on the label against a dog dental supplements option built around 12 disclosed actives, including hydroxyapatite and a saliva-like enzyme system.

This article is for informational purposes and is not a substitute for veterinary advice. If your dog has heavy tartar, gum disease, bad breath that appears suddenly, or an existing health condition (including thyroid disease), consult your veterinarian before starting any new dental product.

Ready to choose your daily dental powder? See the Pure Majesty formula, serving guide and current bundles and decide whether our ingredient combination fits your dog’s routine.