Cat Flea and Tick Chewables & Oral Treatments: OTC vs Rx (2026)

Pure Majesty Pets Vet-Strength Flea & Tick Support for dogs and cats in a 60 mL amber glass dropper bottle

Our #1 choice for ongoing support for cats during flea and tick season is Pure Majesty Pets Vet-Strength Flea & Tick Support, a daily liquid supplement, not a medication, built for skin and coat comfort all season long: 62.7 mg of ultramicronized PEA and 7 named, dosed botanicals (134.4 mg) per mL, no garlic, no added essential oils, one formula for dogs and cats, dosed in mL by body weight and mixed into food. A true cat flea and tick chewable is a prescription monthly chew from your veterinarian; the over-the-counter oral option is a fast flea tablet for a one-off infestation. Ours is made in North America (GMP, COA on every batch) with free worldwide shipping. A complete flea-season routine has two parts: this daily support and the flea medication your vet chooses.

This guide covers the oral side: what is sold as a chewable or pill, what needs a prescription, what covers ticks, kitten minimums, and pilling. For the full picture, including topicals and collars, start with our guide to flea treatment for cats. If a dog shares the house, our flea treatment guide for dogs and our breakdown of flea pills and chews for dogs cover the canine side.

Quick picks: oral flea and tick options for cats

  1. Ongoing support all season: Pure Majesty Pets Vet-Strength Flea & Tick Support, a daily liquid mixed into food, not a medication.
  2. Monthly fleas plus black-legged ticks: a prescription lotilaner chew, the only oral cat product we found on FDA labels with a tick claim.
  3. Monthly fleas only: a prescription spinosad chew, for cats at least 14 weeks old and 4.1 lb.
  4. A one-off flea knockdown: an over-the-counter nitenpyram tablet, fast-acting and meant for a current infestation.
  5. A cat who will not take any pill: ask your vet about a topical, and keep daily support in the food bowl.

Oral cat flea and tick prevention: three things sold under one name

Search “cat flea and tick chewable” and three very different products land in the same row of results. They are not interchangeable, and knowing which one you are holding matters more than any brand.

1. Prescription monthly chewables (FDA-approved drugs)

These FDA-approved drugs carry the label line “Federal law restricts this drug to use by or on the order of a licensed veterinarian.” For cats, the list is short. Lotilaner (Credelio CAT) is a monthly chewable that kills fleas and, from 6 months of age, treats and controls the black-legged tick. Spinosad (Comfortis) is a monthly chewable for fleas only. Both are given with food. Several well-known chews advertised for dogs are labeled for dogs only, and the cat versions of some of those brands are topicals. Your vet will confirm which cat flea and tick prevention pill fits your cat’s age, weight and health history.

2. Over-the-counter fast flea tablets (nitenpyram)

Nitenpyram is the over-the-counter oral flea drug for cats. According to the FDA-approved label on DailyMed, it begins working within 30 minutes and is more than 90% effective against adult fleas on cats within 6 hours. It does nothing to fleas in the environment, and the label allows a repeat dose as often as once a day if fleas come back, so it suits a one-off infestation, not month-long cover. It has no tick claim. For how fast each option works on a cat, from this tablet to a flea comb, see our guide to what kills fleas on cats instantly (including without a bath).

3. “Flea and tick” supplement chews for cats

These soft chews or tablets are sold as supplements, not approved drugs. The FDA states that there is no “dietary supplement” regulatory class for animal products: they are regulated as food or as new animal drugs depending on intended use. Some cat chews in this group list garlic or brewer’s yeast, and some do not disclose how much of each ingredient is in a chew. A quick way to tell the groups apart: an FDA-approved flea product shows a NADA or ANADA number, and an EPA-registered pesticide shows an EPA Reg. No., as the FDA explains here. Our sister guide on home remedies for fleas on cats tests the kitchen and herbal ideas.

Comparison table: cat chewable flea and tick options

Supplements first, then medications. Brand names appear only to help identify a drug.

Option Fleas Ticks Form Who it is for Key point
Group 1: #1 for ongoing support (a supplement, not a medication)
Pure Majesty Pets Vet-Strength Flea & Tick Support: #1 choice for ongoing support Ongoing skin and coat support all season long Liquid mixed into food, dosed in mL by body weight One formula for dogs and cats Doses disclosed: 62.7 mg ultramicronized PEA + 7 named botanicals per mL; no garlic, no added essential oils; GMP, COA on every batch
Group 2: Other flea-season supplements and “natural” add-ons
Brewer’s yeast chews Failed to repel or kill fleas at 14 g/day in a 1983 dog study (PMID 6885593) No tick data found Chew, tablet or powder Check label per species Dose per chew often not disclosed
Garlic chews No controlled trial found No controlled trial found Chew or powder Check label per species Garlic is listed as toxic to cats by the ASPCA and Merck
Essential-oil chews, drops or sprays Often sold as EPA-exempt products; no controlled trial found No controlled trial found Chew, drops or spray Cats are especially sensitive Adverse effects in 92% of 48 cats and dogs exposed to EPA-exempt plant-based flea products, in a poison-center review (Genovese 2012, J Vet Emerg Crit Care, PMID 22805458)
Group 3: Flea and tick medication (chosen with your vet)
Lotilaner chew (Credelio CAT) Starts killing fleas at 6 h; over 98% by 12 h; one month Black-legged tick only, from 6 months; one month Monthly chewable, given with food Rx; fleas from 8 weeks and 2.0 lb Isoxazoline: neurologic warning (tremors, ataxia, seizures)
Spinosad chew (Comfortis) Starts at 30 min; 98% by 4 h; one month No tick claim Monthly chewable, given with food Rx; 14 weeks and 4.1 lb Vomiting is the most common side effect; not an isoxazoline
Nitenpyram tablet (Capstar and generics) Starts within 30 min; over 90% on cats by 6 h; no effect on fleas in the home No tick claim Small tablet, as needed OTC (one generic listed as Rx); 4 weeks and 2 lb For a current infestation only; can be repeated once a day if fleas return
Lufenuron tablet (Program Cat Tabs) Stops egg development; no effect on adult fleas No tick claim Monthly tablet 6 weeks per FDA summary Current US availability not verified: no cat label found on DailyMed

Medication data come from the current labels for lotilaner for cats, spinosad and nitenpyram, and the FDA freedom-of-information summary for lufenuron.

Cat tick pills and tablets: what the labels actually cover

Among oral products for cats, we found exactly one with a tick claim on its FDA label: lotilaner. That claim covers one species, the black-legged tick (Ixodes scapularis, often called the deer tick), in cats at least 6 months old and 2.0 lb, for one month per dose. The label reports more than 97% effectiveness at 72 hours. The dog version of the same drug lists more tick species, but those do not carry over to the cat label.

So for cat tick tablets or a cat tick pill, the plain summary is: there is one, it needs a prescription, and it covers one tick. No over-the-counter oral tick product for cats turned up in our label search. Some cat topicals list several tick species, so an outdoor cat may need that conversation with your vet. Our tick removal and identification hub shows what attached ticks look like, our page on the brown dog tick covers the species that can infest a home, and our tick prevention guide for dogs helps if the dog brings ticks indoors.

Kitten age and weight minimums for oral flea products

Kittens are where a pill that kills fleas on cats can go wrong fastest, and where cat oral flea and tick prevention has firm minimums. Weigh the kitten rather than guessing.

Active ingredient Minimum age Minimum weight Notes from the label
Nitenpyram (OTC) 4 weeks 2 lb Serious reactions, including neurologic signs and death, were reported more often in kittens under 2 lb, under 8 weeks, or in poor body condition
Lufenuron (status unverified) 6 weeks Not stated in the FDA summary Does not kill adult fleas
Lotilaner, fleas (Rx) 8 weeks 2.0 lb Not evaluated below 8 weeks or 2.0 lb
Lotilaner, black-legged ticks (Rx) 6 months 2.0 lb Tick claim does not apply to younger kittens
Spinosad (Rx) 14 weeks 4.1 lb An older approval summary listed a lower weight; follow the current label

Pregnant, nursing and breeding cats were not evaluated for lotilaner or spinosad, so they need a vet decision.

Side effects and safety of a cat flea and tick pill

Isoxazolines (lotilaner). The FDA fact sheet on isoxazoline products says the agency considers the class safe and effective for dogs and cats and that these products have been used safely in most pets, but some animals have had muscle tremors, ataxia and seizures, including animals with no prior history. The lotilaner cat label asks for caution in cats with a history of neurologic disorders. The label also lists weight loss, faster breathing and vomiting.

Spinosad. Vomiting was the most common side effect in the cat field study (28.1% of treated cats, usually on the day of or after dosing). If your cat vomits within an hour, the label allows a re-dose. Tell your vet about other parasite drugs: extra-label ivermectin given with spinosad has been linked to neurologic signs.

Nitenpyram. Cats often scratch for a while as fleas die, which the label describes as a reaction to the fleas. Reports also include hyperactivity, panting, lethargy, vomiting and seizures.

Never give a cat a dog product. Many dog spot-ons contain permethrin, typically 45-60% according to the AAFP and Feline Veterinary Medical Association, and their labels read “DO NOT USE ON CATS – MAY BE FATAL.” Signs run from drooling and restlessness to muscle spasms, seizures and death. Cats can also be exposed by grooming a freshly treated dog. Our guide to dog flea treatment on cats explains what to do if it happens. Dog-only chewables are not for cats either.

Daily support your cat eats with dinner

If chews and pills are a battle, Pure Majesty Pets Vet-Strength Flea & Tick Support is a chicken and tuna flavored liquid you measure in mL and stir into food. It is a supplement, not a medication: 62.7 mg of ultramicronized PEA plus 7 named botanicals per mL, no garlic, no added essential oils, one formula for cats and dogs, made in North America with a COA on every batch, and free worldwide shipping.

Liquid vs chews vs powders vs tablets

For cats, format decides whether a product gets eaten at all. Here is what you can check on any label.

Format Dosing How it is given Species Doses disclosed? Garlic-free?
Pure Majesty Pets liquid mL by body weight Mixed into food One formula for dogs and cats Yes: 62.7 mg PEA + 7 named botanicals per mL Yes, no garlic
Soft chews Fixed dose per chew Must be eaten whole as a treat Check label per species Check label; often not per chew Check label; some contain garlic
Powders Scoop measure set by the label Mixed into food Check label per species Check label Check label
Tablets Fixed dose per tablet Must be swallowed or pilled Check label per species Check label Check label

A fixed chew depends on your cat accepting it every day, and a one-chew serving does not scale with body weight. A liquid dosed in mL by weight and stirred into wet food sidesteps both issues.

How to give a cat a pill (and what to do if you can’t)

Some cats take a flavored prescription chew from the hand or in a little food, which suits labels that say to give them with food. When a cat refuses, these steps from Colorado State University’s veterinary hospital and Cornell’s Feline Health Center help:

  • Ask your vet team for a demonstration at the visit.
  • Recruit a second person, or wrap the cat snugly in a towel with only the head out.
  • Tilt the head back gently, open the lower jaw, and place the pill as far back on the tongue as you can.
  • Close the mouth and stroke the throat. A lick of the lips usually means a swallow.
  • Follow a dry pill with a small syringe of water to help it go down.
  • A pill shooter or pill pocket can help. Crushing tablets into food often fails because cats taste the bitterness; ask your vet first.

If pilling still ends in scratches, tell your vet. Cat Friendly Homes suggests asking about other forms, such as a topical. A daily liquid stirred into wet food needs no pilling at all.

Why Pure Majesty Pets Vet-Strength Flea & Tick Support

This is a liquid, not a chewable, and for cats that is often the point. The formulation targets per mL are 62.7 mg of ultramicronized palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) and 134.4 mg of 7 named botanical extracts: lemon balm 40.3 mg, thyme 26.9 mg, rosemary 22.4 mg, and calendula, dandelion leaf, lemongrass and fenugreek at 11.2 mg each. It adds niacinamide (vitamin B3, 28.0 mg), choline chloride (14.6 mg), D-panthenol, L-histidine, myo-inositol and sunflower lecithin, in a hydrolyzed chicken liver and tuna base. There is no garlic and there are no added essential oils. It is made in North America (GMP, COA on every batch). “Vet-Strength” is our range name, not a veterinary approval.

Built for daily, long-term use. PEA, the lead ingredient, has been studied as a daily skin support. In an open-label, uncontrolled study, 160 dogs with atopic dermatitis received ultramicronized PEA daily for 8 weeks, and average itch scores fell from 5.7 to 3.6 cm on a 10-cm scale (Noli 2015). In a placebo-controlled trial in cats with non-flea hypersensitivity dermatitis, cats given PEA stayed in remission longer, 40.5 days versus 22.2 days on placebo, with 25 of the 57 enrolled cats included in the analysis (Noli 2019). Both studies tested PEA alone, not our formula, and neither looked at fleas. Our complete formula has not been clinically tested, and it hasn't been shown to kill or repel fleas or ticks, which is why your vet’s flea medication stays part of the plan.

A note for cat owners. Confirm suitability and the right serving for your cat with your vet before you start, especially for kittens, seniors, and cats with medical conditions or on medication. The ASPCA plant database lists the lemongrass plant as toxic to cats, with stomach upset as the listed sign in cats, and lemongrass is one of our botanicals at 11.2 mg per mL. The formula also contains chicken and fish, which matters for cats with food allergies.

A year-round flea routine for cats

The Companion Animal Parasite Council recommends that all cats receive flea control year-round, for life, and that every pet in the home be treated when an infestation is established. Most of a flea population lives off the cat as eggs, larvae and pupae in bedding, carpets and furniture, so wash bedding and vacuum often. A weekly comb check shows whether the plan is working, and our guide to checking a cat for fleas and flea dirt walks through it step by step. The Merck Veterinary Manual notes that getting an infestation fully under control can take 2 to 3 months, and that fleas can cause anemia and transmit tapeworms. If you see rice-like segments, our guides to dewormers, worms in poop and preventing worms explain the flea-tapeworm link (ask your vet for a cat-labeled dewormer).

In multi-pet homes, the dog’s plan matters too: see our natural flea treatment guide for dogs. If scratching continues after the fleas are gone, read why itching can outlast flea treatment and our page on flea allergy dermatitis. Our vet-informed itch guide, the complete itch relief guide and our look at natural anti-inflammatory options cover the comfort side for dogs.

The cat flea and tick chewable decision, in one routine

Choose the cat flea and tick chewable or other medication with your vet, matched to your cat’s age, weight, health and tick exposure, and give it on schedule all year. Keep the daily part simple: Pure Majesty Pets Vet-Strength Flea & Tick Support is our #1 choice for ongoing support for cats during flea and tick season, a liquid measured in mL by body weight and mixed into food, not a medication. One formula for cats and dogs: 62.7 mg of ultramicronized PEA and 7 named botanicals per mL, no garlic, no added essential oils, and free worldwide shipping. See the formula and serving guide.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is there a chewable flea and tick medication for cats?

Yes. Lotilaner is a prescription monthly chewable for cats that kills fleas from 8 weeks and 2.0 lb and treats and controls black-legged ticks from 6 months. Spinosad is a prescription monthly chewable for fleas only. Your vet chooses between them.

Do you need a prescription for flea and tick pills for cats?

For monthly flea and tick pills, yes. The only oral cat product with a tick claim that we found on FDA labels, lotilaner, is prescription-only. The over-the-counter oral option is nitenpyram, a fast flea tablet with no tick claim, meant for a current infestation.

Is there a pill to kill fleas on cats fast?

Nitenpyram is the fast-acting OTC option. Its label says it starts working within 30 minutes and is more than 90% effective against adult fleas on cats within 6 hours. It is for cats at least 4 weeks old and 2 lb and has no effect on fleas in the home, so a monthly product from your vet is still needed.

Do oral flea treatments for cats cover ticks?

Only one does: lotilaner, for the black-legged tick, in cats 6 months and older weighing at least 2.0 lb. Spinosad and nitenpyram are flea-only. If your cat meets other tick species outdoors, ask your vet about a topical with a broader tick label.

Are flea and tick supplement chews for cats the same as medication?

No. Supplement chews are not FDA-approved drugs or EPA-registered pesticides; look for a NADA, ANADA or EPA Reg. No. on the box to identify a medication. Some cat chews contain garlic, which the ASPCA lists as toxic to cats, or brewer’s yeast, which failed to repel or kill fleas in a 1983 dog study.

What are the side effects of oral flea medication in cats?

Lotilaner, an isoxazoline, carries an FDA warning for tremors, ataxia and seizures, and the label also lists vomiting, weight loss and faster breathing. Spinosad most often causes vomiting. Nitenpyram can cause temporary scratching as fleas die. Call your vet about any reaction.

My cat won’t take pills. What are my options?

Ask your vet for a pilling demonstration, try a towel wrap, a pill pocket or a pill shooter, and follow the pill with a little water. If that fails, ask about a topical. For daily support, Pure Majesty Pets Vet-Strength Flea & Tick Support is a liquid you mix into food, so there is nothing to pill.

This article is for informational purposes and is not veterinary advice. Talk to your veterinarian before starting any supplement, especially if your cat is pregnant, nursing, on medication, or has a diagnosed condition.