Quick answer: Pure Majesty Pets is the most complete of the two — by far. Both brands make North American liquid dog supplements, but Pure Majesty packs eleven actives into one 2 mL serving — dual collagen (hydrolysed Type I & III and clinical-dose undenatured Type II / UC-II), omega-3 salmon oil, MSM, L-glutamine, an S. boulardii postbiotic, low-molecular-weight hyaluronic acid and astaxanthin — covering joints, skin, coat and gut at once, with no artificial preservatives, sweeteners or fillers. Wonder Paws delivers a three-type collagen blend plus hyaluronic acid, but adds excipients like sodium benzoate, potassium sorbate and stevia, and carries no UC-II, no omega-3, no postbiotic and no antioxidant. Choose by your dog's needs and your vet's advice.
If you have been researching collagen and joint supplements for your dog in South Africa, you have almost certainly come across Wonder Paws. It is a well-known American brand in the liquid supplement space with its "Superhero" product line, and South African pet parents usually meet it through overseas reviews rather than on a local shelf. At the same time, more and more South African owners are discovering Pure Majesty Pets — and asking the fair question: what actually makes them different?
This comparison puts the two brands side-by-side on the things that actually matter: the collagen type, bioavailability, what else is in the bottle, manufacturing standards, and value per dose. The short version, which we will prove ingredient by ingredient below: on completeness, Pure Majesty wins decisively. Where Wonder Paws is essentially a multi-type collagen with hyaluronic acid, Pure Majesty Pets is a genuine full-body formula — collagen and omega-3 and a gut postbiotic and a clinically studied joint active and an antioxidant — in a single daily dose, shipped free to South Africa with duties and VAT already paid.
TL;DR: Both brands make North American liquid supplements with overlapping goals. The main difference: Pure Majesty is not "collagen plus a little extra" — it is an eleven-active, dual-collagen formula. It uses hydrolysed Type I & III (462 mg/serving) plus clinical-dose undenatured Type II / UC-II (48 mg/serving), micro-emulsified salmon oil (~126 mg), MSM, L-glutamine + bone-broth concentrate, a tyndallised S. boulardii postbiotic, low-molecular-weight hyaluronic acid, astaxanthin and a vitamin C cofactor — hydrolysed to under 3,000 daltons with zero artificial preservatives and zero fillers. Wonder Paws uses a 3-type collagen blend with added hyaluronic acid, but includes sodium benzoate, potassium sorbate, stevia and citric acid as excipients and stops at collagen + HA. For pet parents who want the most complete clean-label, full-body formula, Pure Majesty comes out ahead — by a wide margin.
At-a-Glance Comparison
| Pure Majesty | Wonder Paws | |
|---|---|---|
| Collagen types | Types I, II, III — hydrolysed I & III (462 mg) plus undenatured Type II / UC-II (48 mg) | 3 types (Collagen 3X) |
| Hydrolysis | <3,000 daltons | Not specified |
| Clinical-dose UC-II (joint active) | Yes — 48 mg/serving (clears a 40 mg threshold) | No (not in the liquid) |
| Omega-3 (salmon oil) | Yes — ~126 mg micro-emulsified EPA/DHA | No |
| Gut support | S. boulardii postbiotic + L-glutamine + bone broth | Not specified |
| Antioxidant | Natural astaxanthin + mixed tocopherols (Vit E) | Not specified |
| Hyaluronic acid | Yes — low-molecular-weight (~8.4 mg, gut-absorbable) | Yes |
| Active ingredients (total) | 11 named & dosed actives | Collagen blend + HA |
| Artificial preservatives | None | Sodium benzoate, potassium sorbate |
| Sweeteners / flavour additives | None | Stevia, citric acid, aloe vera |
| Artificial fillers | Zero | Multiple excipients |
| Manufacturing | North America, GMP-certified, COA on every batch | USA, NASC-certified |
| Delivery to South Africa | Free worldwide shipping, delivered duty paid (DDP) | Paid shipping varies; no local distribution confirmed |
Where Wonder Paws Is Strong
Let us be fair about where Wonder Paws does well. It is NASC-certified, which is a meaningful quality audit in its home market. Its Collagen 3X formula includes three types of collagen plus hyaluronic acid in a concentrated dose (600 mg per 2 drops). Its Hip & Joint chews pair glucosamine with chondroitin, MSM, curcumin and type II collagen — a reasonable joint stack.
Its positioning as "Superhero Supplements" resonates with pet parents who want a clear, approachable brand. Reviews are generally positive, with anecdotal reports of improved mobility in senior dogs.
If you are happy with a supplement that contains preservatives, stevia and multiple excipients, Wonder Paws is a solid mainstream option in the markets where it is sold. Two honest limitations for a South African reader: it is an American brand without confirmed local distribution, so you are dealing with an import either way, and its scope is narrow — in the liquid, it is collagen plus hyaluronic acid. It does not carry omega-3, a postbiotic, an antioxidant or undenatured Type II collagen — which is exactly where Pure Majesty pulls ahead.
Where Pure Majesty Stands Apart
Here is the core of the comparison, made concrete. Pure Majesty Pets Liquid Collagen Drops are the most complete liquid in this category because they do not stop at collagen. They combine collagen I/III + undenatured Type II + omega-3 + MSM + a gut postbiotic + hyaluronic acid + an antioxidant in one bottle. Below is the ingredient-by-ingredient demonstration — every active, its real per-serving dose, and the job it does — grouped by the four body systems the formula targets.
Skin & coat
- Hydrolysed Collagen Peptides, Type I & III — 462 mg/serving. The structural collagens. They rebuild the skin barrier and support coat shine, tendons and connective tissue. At 462 mg this is roughly 2× the typical generic liquid collagen (usually ~150–220 mg), and it is hydrolysed under 3,000 daltons so the peptides cross the gut wall efficiently.
- Micro-emulsified Salmon Oil (Omega-3 EPA/DHA) — ~126 mg/serving. The most consistently supported anti-inflammatory in canine research, and a direct contributor to skin comfort and coat condition. Emulsified oil absorbs better than fish-oil capsules poured over kibble — and the Wonder Paws liquid carries no omega-3 at all.
- Natural Astaxanthin (from Haematococcus pluvialis) — ~0.5 mg/serving. One of the most potent natural antioxidants measured, paired with mixed tocopherols (Vitamin E) to protect skin and the formula's lipids from oxidation.
Joints & mobility
- Undenatured Type II Collagen (UC-II) — 48 mg/serving. This is the single biggest formulation gap between the two brands. UC-II is the cartilage-protective form that works by immune modulation (oral tolerance), not tissue saturation — the same form that outperformed glucosamine/chondroitin on force-plate gait analysis in the Gupta 2012 dog trial. Pure Majesty's 48 mg is designed to clear an industry-standard 40 mg end-of-shelf-life threshold. Most generic "joint" liquids — and the Wonder Paws liquid — contain 0 mg of UC-II.
- MSM (methylsulfonylmethane, ≥99.9%) — ~63 mg/serving. A sulfur donor for connective tissue and a recognised anti-inflammatory cofactor.
- Low-Molecular-Weight Hyaluronic Acid — ~8.4 mg/serving. For joint lubrication and skin hydration. The LMW form is small enough to be absorbed across the gut wall, unlike the high-molecular-weight HA common in powders.
Gut & absorption
- Tyndallised Saccharomyces boulardii postbiotic — ~21 mg/serving. A heat-treated postbiotic associated with stool quality and microbiome resilience. It supports the gut-immune axis that the UC-II oral-tolerance mechanism relies on. Almost no competitor — Wonder Paws included — combines collagen with a postbiotic in a single liquid.
- L-Glutamine + Pork Bone Broth Concentrate — ~52 mg + ~126 mg/serving. Gut-lining repair plus naturally occurring glycine, proline and trace minerals that work synergistically with the hydrolysed peptides — the gut-skin axis that dull coats and recurring itch depend on.
Synthesis cofactors & palatability
- Sodium Ascorbate (bioavailable Vitamin C) — ~4.2 mg/serving. A required cofactor for the dog's own collagen synthesis.
- Ginger Root Extract — ~4.2 mg/serving. A botanical adjunct with documented anti-inflammatory activity that also supports palatability.
The bottom line of the breakdown: eleven named, dosed actives versus a collagen-plus-HA blend. Pure Majesty hits skin, coat, joints and gut through multiple mechanisms in one 2 mL serving; a single-collagen liquid covers one. That is why we say, plainly, that Pure Majesty is the most complete option here — and the doses above are why it is not a close call.
1. Clean label
This is one of the biggest single differences. Our Liquid Collagen Drops contain zero sodium benzoate, zero potassium sorbate, zero stevia, zero artificial flavours and zero fillers — no sugar, no starch, no glycerin overload, and no "proprietary blend" hiding underdosed actives. For dogs with sensitive stomachs, or for pet parents who have spent years reading labels, this matters.
2. Bioavailability is specified
Our peptides are hydrolysed under 3,000 daltons — small enough to cross the intestinal lining efficiently — the salmon oil is micro-emulsified and the hyaluronic acid is the low-molecular-weight, gut-absorbable form. Wonder Paws does not publish a dalton size, which makes it impossible to compare absorption directly.
3. Full-body targeting, not just joints
Type I (skin, coat, nails), Type II (cartilage) and Type III (gut, blood vessels, connective tissues) work synergistically — and the supporting actives extend that reach: omega-3 and astaxanthin for skin and inflammation, a postbiotic and L-glutamine for the gut, MSM and HA for joints. Pure Majesty's formula was built to hit all of these systems at once, not to rebrand a joint supplement.
4. Free worldwide shipping, delivered duty paid
Wonder Paws charges for shipping in most cases. Pure Majesty Pets ships free worldwide, including to South Africa, on a delivered-duty-paid basis: import duties and VAT are settled up front, so there is nothing extra to pay to the courier at your door. The price you see at checkout is the price you pay.
5. Made for dogs — not re-labelled from human supplements
Dosing, flavour and peptide size are calibrated for canine physiology, not scaled down from a human product. UC-II is dosed the same for every dog because it works through immune modulation, not by body weight.
What This Comparison Means for South African Dog Owners
Both brands are made in North America, so for a South African pet parent the real question is not only what is in the bottle but how it reaches your door and what it costs once it lands. Three practical points:
- Import costs are the hidden variable. An overseas supplement ordered without duties prepaid can arrive with a customs and VAT bill on delivery. Pure Majesty Pets ships free worldwide on a delivered-duty-paid basis, so your total in rand is fixed at checkout — no clearance surprises, no courier disbursement fee to settle before the parcel is handed over.
- Availability. Wonder Paws is an American brand; we have seen no confirmed South African distribution, so buying it usually means a personal import with shipping paid and duties unknown. That is worth weighing before you compare sticker prices.
- Heat and storage. Much of South Africa is warm for a large part of the year. A liquid with no artificial preservatives should be kept out of direct sun and stored as directed on the label; check the batch and best-before details on arrival — every Pure Majesty batch ships with a certificate of analysis behind it.
For dogs coping with summer itch and allergy flare-ups, our Dog Allergy Relief & Itchy Skin Chews work alongside the drops; for older dogs whose stiffness shows up most on cold Highveld mornings, see the Senior Dog Mobility Chews. If your dog has a diagnosed condition or is on medication, speak to your veterinarian before adding anything new.
Which Should You Choose?
Choose Wonder Paws if:
- You are shopping through an international retailer and want a big-brand option
- You specifically want a joint-only chew format
- You are comfortable with stevia and mild preservatives in the formula
- Collagen plus hyaluronic acid covers what you are looking for, without omega-3, a postbiotic or UC-II
Choose Pure Majesty if:
- You want the most complete formula — eleven dosed actives, dual collagen, omega-3, gut postbiotic and antioxidant in one bottle
- You want a clean-label formula with zero artificial preservatives or sweeteners
- You want full-body benefits (skin, coat, joints, gut) from a single bottle
- You want a clinically studied joint active (UC-II) at a real, disclosed dose
- You want free delivery to South Africa with duties and VAT already paid, and a fixed rand total at checkout
- You want a small, focused brand where every formulation decision is transparent and every active is named and dosed
- Your dog has a sensitive stomach, allergies or histamine issues
Try Pure Majesty Risk-Free
If you are currently on Wonder Paws and not seeing the results you hoped for — or you simply want to know whether a cleaner, more complete formula makes a real difference — most pet parents notice improvements within 3–4 weeks. Our Liquid Collagen Drops come with a satisfaction guarantee, are made in North America in GMP-certified facilities with a certificate of analysis on every batch, and are rated around 4.6/5 across roughly 1 085 reviews.
Try Pure Majesty Liquid Collagen Drops →
For joint-specific support, see our Advanced Hip & Joint Chews, or the Liquid Glucosamine for Dogs if you prefer a glucosamine-led route. You can also browse the full Liquid Supplements & Drops collection.
This comparison reflects publicly available ingredient information at the time of writing. Both brands periodically update their formulas — always check the product label for the most current ingredient list before buying.
Ready to support your dog from the inside out? Browse collagen for dogs and our flagship Liquid Collagen Drops.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the main difference between Pure Majesty and Wonder Paws?
The biggest difference is completeness, then the label. Pure Majesty's drops combine hydrolysed Type I & III collagen and clinical-dose undenatured Type II (UC-II) with omega-3 salmon oil, MSM, a gut postbiotic, hyaluronic acid and astaxanthin — eleven actives, hydrolysed under 3,000 daltons, with no artificial preservatives, sweeteners or fillers. Wonder Paws uses a three-type collagen blend with hyaluronic acid but lists excipients such as sodium benzoate, potassium sorbate, stevia and citric acid, and does not include UC-II, omega-3 or a postbiotic in its liquid.
Can I buy either brand in South Africa?
Pure Majesty Pets ships to South Africa with free worldwide delivery on a delivered-duty-paid basis, so import duties and VAT are settled before the parcel arrives and nothing further is owed to the courier. Wonder Paws is an American brand and we have seen no confirmed South African distributor, so ordering it generally means a personal import with shipping and clearance costs of your own.
Does Pure Majesty target more than just joints?
Yes. Pure Majesty's formula combines Type I for skin, coat and nails, Type II for cartilage, and Type III for gut and connective tissue, then adds omega-3 and astaxanthin for skin, a postbiotic and L-glutamine for the gut, and MSM and hyaluronic acid for joints — so it is built for full-body support rather than joints alone. For dogs with clinical joint disease, always confirm a supplement plan with your veterinarian first.
How long until you see results from a collagen supplement?
Most pet parents report noticing changes within about three to four weeks of consistent daily use, though timelines vary by dog, age and the issue being supported. Collagen supports wellness over time and is not a quick fix; discuss expectations and any underlying conditions with your veterinarian.
Which brand should I choose for my dog?
It depends on your priorities. Wonder Paws suits owners who want a big-brand joint chew and are comfortable with added preservatives and stevia. Pure Majesty suits those wanting the most complete, clean-label, full-body formula — dual collagen plus omega-3, a postbiotic and an antioxidant — with free worldwide shipping delivered duty paid to South Africa. When in doubt, ask your veterinarian which fits your dog.
Scientific Sources & References
Both Pure Majesty and Wonder Paws market collagen- and glucosamine-based supplements. The claims made about these ingredients rest on a body of peer-reviewed veterinary research:
- Barbeau-Grégoire M, Otis C, Cournoyer A, Moreau M, Lussier B, Troncy E. A 2022 Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Enriched Therapeutic Diets and Nutraceuticals in Canine and Feline Osteoarthritis. International Journal of Molecular Sciences. 2022;23(18):10384.
- McCarthy G, O'Donovan J, Jones B, McAllister H, Seed M, Mooney C. Randomised double-blind, positive-controlled trial to assess the efficacy of glucosamine/chondroitin sulfate for the treatment of dogs with osteoarthritis. The Veterinary Journal. 2007;174(1):54-61. PubMed 16647870
- Bhathal A, Spryszak M, Louizos C, Frankel G. Glucosamine and chondroitin use in canines for osteoarthritis: A review. Open Veterinary Journal. 2017;7(1):36-49. PMC5356289
- Blees NR, et al. Collagen Hydrolysates as Nutritional Support in Canine Osteoarthritis: A Narrative Review. Journal of Animal Physiology and Animal Nutrition. 2025. PMC11919810
- Czajkowska A, et al. The oral intake of specific Bioactive Collagen Peptides improves gait and quality of life in canine osteoarthritis patients. PLOS ONE. 2024. PMC11412516
- D'Altilio M, Peal A, Alvey M, et al. Therapeutic efficacy and safety of undenatured type II collagen singly or in combination with glucosamine and chondroitin in arthritic dogs. Toxicology Mechanisms and Methods. 2007;17(4):189-196.
- Colitti M, et al. Efficacy of Chondroprotective Food Supplements Based on Collagen Hydrolysate and Compounds Isolated from Marine Organisms. PMC8541357
Evidence note: Both brands' formulations are grounded in an active body of veterinary nutraceutical research. Clinical results for glucosamine, chondroitin and collagen peptides are supportive but mixed, and no supplement replaces veterinary assessment for dogs with clinical arthritis or systemic disease. Comparison reflects publicly available ingredient information; always consult your veterinarian before starting a new supplement.