The practical difference in ProBright Advanced vs Prodenta comes down to disclosure and mechanism. ProBright Advanced, made by PetLab Co., publishes the exact milligram and CFU amount of every active in each scoop and includes two ingredients with published canine calculus research behind them — Ascophyllum nodosum kelp and sodium hexametaphosphate. Prodenta, made by Pup Labs, names its ingredients (spirulina, peppermint, oregano, pumpkin, fennel) but does not publish how much of any of them a scoop contains. Neither product carries a Veterinary Oral Health Council seal, and neither one — nor ours — is a substitute for veterinary dental care.
Quick answer: ProBright Advanced is the more transparent and more research-aligned of the two: it discloses per-scoop amounts and uses kelp plus sodium hexametaphosphate, both studied in dogs. Prodenta uses a herbal, spirulina-led blend with no published dosages. Neither holds VOHC acceptance.
What is actually in ProBright Advanced, and how much?
ProBright Advanced is a once-daily powder from PetLab Co. that you sprinkle over food. We can confirm the PetLab Co. attribution: it is sold under the PetLabCo. brand on the company's own site and through Chewy and PetSmart.
Unusually for this category, PetLab Co. publishes a per-scoop breakdown. On its own ingredients page (updated December 2025) it lists, for a medium-dog 2 g scoop: 750 million CFU of a probiotic blend (Pediococcus pentosaceus and Lactiplantibacillus plantarum), 850 mg brown algae (Ascophyllum nodosum), 100 mg sodium hexametaphosphate, 68 mg rosemary leaf extract and 8.2 mg decaffeinated green tea. The large-dog 3 g scoop rises to 1.2 billion CFU, 1,510 mg algae and 125 mg sodium hexametaphosphate. Retailer ingredient panels also list perilla seed extract among the actives, plus calcium bentonite, dried brewer's yeast, hydrolyzed chicken liver flavour and spinach powder as inactives.
UK prices vary by retailer, pack size and daily amount. Check the current UK listing and compare cost per labelled daily serving.
PetLab Co. also cites its own 28-day study reporting a 40% reduction in hydrogen sulfide, a key bad-breath compound. Worth knowing: we could not locate that study in a peer-reviewed journal or an independent database. It is brand-run data, presented as such.

What is actually in Prodenta, and what is not disclosed?
Prodenta (branded ProDenta by Pup Labs, and a separate product from the kelp-only ProDen PlaqueOff) is also a sprinkle-on daily powder, sold by dog size, with 30 servings per bag.
Pup Labs names five headline ingredients on its product page: spirulina, pumpkin, a "flavonoid superfoods" blend, peppermint and oregano. Amazon listings for the same product add fennel seed and whole oats. The brand states the formula is produced in a GMP and NASC-certified facility in Florida, and lists Dr. Randy D. Aronson as its lead veterinary consultant.
UK prices vary by retailer, pack size and daily amount. Check the current UK listing and compare cost per labelled daily serving.
ProBright Advanced vs Prodenta: how do they compare side by side?
Our own dental powder for dogs is included as a third column, and held to exactly the same disclosure test we applied to the other two — including where we come up short.
| Criterion | ProBright Advanced (PetLab Co.) | Prodenta (Pup Labs) | Pure Majesty Pets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Format | Powder on food, jar sized by dog | Powder on food, bag sized by dog | Powder on food, single jar |
| Named actives | 5 with published amounts (probiotic blend, kelp, SHMP, rosemary, green tea) | 5–7 named (spirulina, flavonoids, peppermint, oregano, pumpkin, fennel, oats) | 12 named, including hydroxyapatite, GOX/LPO enzymes, oral postbiotic, inulin, kelp, SHMP, zinc citrate |
| Per-scoop amounts disclosed | Yes — mg and CFU published by size | No | No — ingredients named, amounts not published on the product page |
| Main mechanisms | Kelp via saliva, calcium-binding (SHMP), oral probiotics, antioxidants | Herbal antibacterial and antioxidant support, breath freshening | Enamel mineral support, enzyme system, pre/postbiotic, kelp, calcium-binding |
| Brushing required | No | No | No |
| flavour / palatability | Hydrolyzed chicken liver flavour listed | Brand describes it as odorless and tasteless in food | Brand describes it as virtually tasteless once mixed |
| Published price (July 2026) | Check current UK listing | Check current UK listing | Check current UK listing |
| Evidence available | Brand-run 28-day breath study; independent research exists on two of its ingredients | On-site reviews and vet endorsement; no product trial published | No product trial published; independent research exists on several ingredients |
| VOHC seal | No | No | No |
How should you actually judge a dog dental powder?
Marketing language converges fast in this category, so it helps to score products on things that can be checked. Four criteria do most of the work.
- Does the label tell you how much? An ingredient named without an amount cannot be evaluated. ProBright Advanced clears this bar; Prodenta and our own powder do not, and that is a fair criticism of both.
- Do the actives have canine data, not just human or in-vitro data? Kelp and sodium hexametaphosphate do. Spirulina, oregano and peppermint have general antimicrobial and antioxidant literature, but we found no controlled canine dental trials for them.
- Is there a VOHC seal? The Veterinary Oral Health Council reviews submitted trial data and requires at least a 15% reduction in plaque or calculus in each of two trials, averaging 20% or more, with statistical significance. Very few products in any category hold it. In the current VOHC dog list, the only accepted food-added powders are ProDen PlaqueOff Powder (SwedenCare, 2019) and the CEVA Clenz-A-Dent version (2020). ProBright Advanced, Prodenta and Pure Majesty Pets are all absent.
- Will you actually use it daily? A powder used four times a week beats a toothbrush used twice a month. Compliance is the hidden variable in every home dental routine.
If you want the deeper version of this framework, our dog dental powder guide walks through each mechanism, and our best dental powder for dogs comparison scores the wider market on the same criteria.
What does the research say about the ingredients these powders share?
Kelp (Ascophyllum nodosum) has the strongest canine evidence of anything in either formula. In a double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled study of 60 client-owned dogs over 90 days, edible treats containing A. nodosum significantly improved plaque index, calculus index and volatile sulfur compound concentration compared with placebo (Gawor et al., Frontiers in Veterinary Science, 2018; PMID 30109236; DOI 10.3389/fvets.2018.00168). A 2023 review in Polish Journal of Veterinary Sciences (PMID 37727971) concluded the preventive effect appears strongest in powder form, that data on reversing existing disease are essentially absent, and that the mechanism is still unclear — a 2021 Frontiers in Veterinary Science paper found the supplement measurably alters the canine saliva metabolome (PMC8258245), which is a plausible route but not a proven one.
Sodium hexametaphosphate has older but direct calculus data. Work published in the British Journal of Veterinary Research (1995;56(7):913–918; PMID 7574160) and a follow-up in the Journal of Veterinary Dentistry (Stookey, Warrick, Miller and Katz, 1996;13(1); DOI 10.1177/089875649601300105) reported large reductions in calculus formation in beagles fed hexametaphosphate-coated food or biscuits. Important caveat: those studies coated the food surface at a defined concentration, which is not the same delivery route as a loose powder stirred into a bowl, so the numbers should not be transplanted onto any powder product.
Hydroxyapatite evidence is mostly human. A recent narrative review of clinical evidence in human dentistry describes hydroxyapatite adhering to enamel and filling microscopic surface defects, with remineralization comparable to fluoride at equivalent contact times (PMC12470856). Canine trials on hydroxyapatite in dental powders are not available, so the honest framing is that the mechanism is well characterized in human enamel — not that it is proven in dogs.
Spirulina, oregano and peppermint have real antioxidant and antimicrobial literature, but current research does not strongly prove that they reduce plaque or calculus in dogs. That is a limitation of the evidence, not an accusation against the product.
Underneath all of it sits the reason this matters: Cornell University's Riney Canine Health Center notes that 80–90% of dogs over three years old have some degree of periodontal disease, and the Merck Veterinary Manual is blunt that while brushing removes plaque, calculus can only be removed by professional scaling and polishing. No powder changes that. For more on the safety side of daily powders, see is dog dental powder safe.
Where does the Pure Majesty dental powder fit in this comparison?

Three verifiable differences, and one honest limitation.
UK prices vary by retailer, pack size and daily amount. Check the current UK listing and compare cost per labelled daily serving.
The limitation, stated plainly: we publish the ingredient names and the cold-processing temperature (under 35°C, so the enzymes and postbiotics survive into the jar), but not the milligram amount of each active on the product page. On the disclosure test above, PetLab Co. currently beats us, and we would rather say so than pretend otherwise. We also do not hold a VOHC seal.
If you are cross-shopping the wider category, our PetLab Co dental powder review goes deeper on that brand specifically, our ProDen PlaqueOff for dogs review covers the one powder that does hold VOHC acceptance, and the dog toothpaste alternative collection groups the no-brush options together.
What can you realistically expect at 2, 4 and 8 weeks?
Expectation-setting is where most owners get disappointed, so here is a realistic timeline for any daily powder, ours included.
- Weeks 1–2: Acceptance, not results. You are checking that your dog eats the food with the powder on it and that stools stay normal. Some owners notice a modest breath change; many notice nothing yet. Nothing has changed on the teeth.
- Weeks 3–4: Breath is the first thing that tends to shift, because volatile sulfur compounds respond to changes in oral bacteria faster than mineral deposits do. Existing brown calculus will look exactly the same, because it is mineralized.
- Weeks 6–8 and beyond: If a powder is going to help, this is where new soft plaque accumulates more slowly and the gumline may look less inflamed. The A. nodosum trial ran 90 days for a reason. Judge the product on how quickly deposits return after a professional cleaning, not on whether old tartar disappeared.
What are the common mistakes owners make with dental powders?
- Expecting tartar to fall off. Hardened calculus needs scaling. Powders are about slowing what comes next.
- Starting a powder instead of booking an overdue dental. If there is visible calculus, red gums or a mouth odour that has changed suddenly, the powder is the follow-up, not the treatment.
- Dosing by eye. Scoop sizes are calibrated to weight bands. Doubling up does not accelerate anything and wastes product.
- Stopping at three weeks. The published canine work runs 90 days. A two-week trial tells you almost nothing.
- Ignoring iodine with kelp formulas. Ascophyllum nodosum is a natural iodine source. If your dog has thyroid disease or takes thyroid medication, ask your vet before using any kelp-containing powder — that applies to ProBright Advanced and to ours. Our kelp dental powder for dogs article covers this in detail.
- Assuming a vet endorsement equals a trial. A named veterinary consultant is a genuine quality signal about formulation review. It is not the same as published efficacy data on the finished product.
When should you call your vet instead of reaching for a powder?
Periodontal disease is a veterinary diagnosis, and some signs mean a supplement is the wrong first move. Book an appointment rather than a subscription if you see bleeding gums, a receding gumline or exposed roots, a loose or discolored tooth, swelling under an eye or along the jaw, dropping food or chewing on one side, pawing at the mouth, drooling more than usual, or a sudden rather than gradual change in breath odour. A powder started after a professional cleaning works with the mouth; a powder started on top of established disease works against it.
Frequently asked questions
Is ProBright Advanced or Prodenta better for my dog?
On verifiable criteria, ProBright Advanced is the stronger of the two: PetLab Co. publishes per-scoop amounts for all five actives, and two of those actives — Ascophyllum nodosum kelp and sodium hexametaphosphate — have published canine research behind them. Prodenta's herbal blend does not disclose amounts and does not include either ingredient. Neither carries a VOHC seal, and individual dogs respond differently.
Does either ProBright Advanced or Prodenta have a VOHC seal?
No. As of July 2026, neither product appears on the Veterinary Oral Health Council's accepted products list for dogs. The only food-added powders on that list are ProDen PlaqueOff Powder from SwedenCare and the CEVA Clenz-A-Dent version. The Pure Majesty Pets dental powder is not on the list either.
Do dental powders remove tartar that is already on my dog's teeth?
No. The Merck Veterinary Manual states that while plaque can be removed by brushing, calculus can only be removed by professional scaling and polishing under anesthesia. Daily powders may help slow how quickly new plaque and calculus accumulate, which is a different and more modest claim.
How long before I see anything from a dog dental powder?
Breath tends to change first, often somewhere between weeks two and four. Changes in how quickly new deposits build up take longer to judge — the main placebo-controlled kelp study in dogs ran for 90 days. Existing hardened tartar will not change at any point.
Are these powders safe to give every day?
All three are designed for daily use on food, and it helps to introduce any new powder gradually over about a week. Because Ascophyllum nodosum kelp is naturally high in iodine, speak to your veterinarian first if your dog has thyroid disease, takes thyroid medication, is pregnant, or has any diagnosed health condition.
Can I switch between ProBright Advanced, Prodenta and another powder?
Yes, though there is little reason to switch quickly. Because meaningful effects on plaque accumulation are measured over weeks to months, changing products every few weeks makes it impossible to tell whether anything is working. Pick one, give it a fair run alongside regular veterinary check-ups, and reassess after a full cycle.
This article is general educational information and is not veterinary advice. Pure Majesty Pets supplements support general oral wellness and are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Periodontal disease is a veterinary diagnosis. Always follow the product label and consult your veterinarian about your individual dog, particularly before starting any supplement in a dog with a diagnosed health condition or on medication. Third-party product details were verified against manufacturer and retailer listings in July 2026 and may change.
Keep reading
- the wider dental powder comparison — the same disclosure and evidence criteria applied across the broader powder market, not just these two brands.
- our multi-mechanism dental powder — twelve named actives in one daily scoop, including kelp and sodium hexametaphosphate.
UK veterinary guidance
Daily brushing remains the most effective home measure for reducing plaque. Dental powder can support a routine, but it does not replace veterinary care or remove established hard tartar. See PDSA: dental disease in dogs and PDSA: bad breath in dogs.
UK products to include in a comparison
For a UK-market comparison of dental powders, use the brands' current product information for ProDen PlaqueOff Powder for Dogs and PetLabCo ProBright. Compare declared ingredients, amount per serving, daily directions and pack size; do not assume different formats are directly equivalent. Availability and prices can change, so check each official UK listing.